TwitterEmail to a friendPrintmore
  • Facebook
  • NewsVine
  • Reddit
  • StumbleUpon
  • Google Bookmarks
  • Yahoo! Buzz
  • Technorati
  • Live
  • LinkedIn
  • MySpace

Ionian University

The Ionian University was founded in 1984, the same year as the University of Thessaly and the University of the Aegean and is located in Corfu.

The University consists of the following seven Departments (year of establishment in brackets):

  • Department of History (1985)
  • Department of Foreign Languages, Translation & Interpreting (1986)
  • Department of Music Studies (1992)
  • Department of Archives & Library Science (1993)
  • Department of Computer Science (2004)
  • Department of Audio & Visual Arts (2004)
  • Department of Asian Studies (2010)

The number of Departments, as well as the fields covered, indicate that the Ionian University has chosen to operate on a narrow and therefore controllable base. The teacher to student ratio (approximately 1:10) illustrates this fact. Moreover, the dispersion of the Departments' facilities in different parts of the urban complex of the city of Corfu, a city with a population of 40,000 residents, declares the University's will to find its place in the structure of a city with a rich historic and architectural heritage.

Web Site